Swiss Foundation Public Domain - Logo
Swiss Foundation Public Domain - Logo

Shellac Archive

The Shellac Archive of the Swiss Foundation Public Domain consists of about 70'000 records. Roughly a third were private property of Carl Flisch before they were donated to the Foundation. Another third came from the collection of Martin Osterwalder. The rest was bought by the Project or the Foundation.

Currently inventory of the Archive is being established. During this phase no new records are acquired. However, the Foundation often receives smaller collections of private donors.

Board

These are the current Board members of the Foundation:
Christoph Zimmermann (President)
Hartwig Thomas (Director)
Bruno Jehle (Cultural heritage)
Peter Ljunggren (Legal advisor)
Samuel Zünd (Musical expert)

Current Activity

It will take years to photograph all labels of our records and to digitize all sound tracks. While it is being assembled we make the digital part of our inventory accessible on-line to the general public.

Financial Situation

The financial situation of the Foundation does not yet guarantee its continued existence. More financial contributions are needed to pay for archive materials and the rent of office and storage space. All work for the Faundation is unsalaried. Currently Enter AG contributes a large part of the expense. More financial contributions are needed for the Foundation to pay for its own operating expense.

Schweizerische Stiftung Public Domain - Logo
Schweizerische Stiftung Public Domain - Logo

Archivgut

Die rund 70'000 Schellackplatten der Schweizerischen Stiftung Public Domain stammen etwa zu einem Drittel aus dem Privatbesitz von Carl Flisch, zu einem Drittel aus der Sammlung Martin Osterwalder und der grosse Rest wurde vom Projekt oder der Stiftung Public Domain angeschafft.

Aktuell wird die Sammlung inventarisiert. In dieser Phase werden keine neuen Schellackplatten gekauft. Es kommen aber laufend kleinere Schenkungen dazu.

Vorstand

Der Vorstand der Stiftung besteht heute aus:
Christoph Zimmermann (Präsident)
Hartwig Thomas (Geschäftsführung)
Bruno Jehle (kulturelles Erbe)
Peter Ljunggren (Rechtsberater)
Samuel Zünd (Musikexperte)

Laufende Arbeiten

Es wird Jahre dauern, bis alle Labels unserer Platten fotografiert und alle Tonspuren digitalisiert sind. Wir machen den digitalisierten Teil unseres Inventars zugänglich, während wir es laufend ergänzen.

Finanzen

Die Schweizerische Stiftung Public Domain ist noch nicht nachhaltig finanziert. Sie benötigt dringend Spenden, um Archivmaterial und Büro- und Magazinmiete zu bezahlen. Alle Arbeiten werden ehrenamtlich geleistet. Momentan hat die Enter AG den Grossteil dieser Kosten übernommen. Um diese Kosten selber zu tragen, benötigt die Stiftung dringend Geldspenden.